Professional Risk Manager Designation

Built by a broad coalition of industry leaders and endorsed by leading university programs and industry firms, the PRM™ Designation is the leading risk manager credential, globally-recognized, graduate-level.


 PRM Designation Program Enrollment

With an approved application, the path to the PRM Designation includes passing all required examinations within a two-year period. The entire enrollment period is 3 years, which allows for a study period prior to sitting for the exams.

Apply Now

Search current PRM holders



PRM Designation Guidebook

Download the PRM Candidate Guidebook to view details and the PRM syllabus. Your complete complimentary guide to the PRM certification process.

Then, download the PRM Self-assessment Tool to gauge your current expertise levels for all domains and create a personalized reading list.

Access the Case Study and Standards resources that support the PRM syllabus and the digital resources that supplement the handbooks. Both are publicly available and may be used by all potential and current PRM program candidates.

To prepare for your test date, access sample test questions by downloading a sample test set for free or gaining 30 days access to a PRM Practice Bank of test questions.


Candidate Qualifications

To become an eligible PRM Candidate, applicants must:
  • Hold a current PRMIA Sustaining OR RIM level membership; AND
  • Have a completed graduate school degree (i.e., MBA, MSF, MQF, etc.); OR
  • Be a current CFA  / CIIA Charterholder (see Cross-over Qualifications for details)

Alternatively, if a master’s degree is not held:
  • A bachelor's degree with 2 years of full-time work experience*; OR
  • 4 years of full-time work experience*
*Work experience must be associated with the financial services industries (including regulatory or rating industries), or in the risk management department of any industry.
PRM Applicants who are graduates of university degree programs accredited by the PRMIA Risk Accreditation Program may be eligible for exemptions. Details can be found on the Risk Accreditation Program Page.

Graduates who have recently completed a degree program are eligible to take the PRM examinations as part of a special certificate program. Students currently enrolled in a degree program are also eligible for this program. They can then apply to the PRM Designation program when they are eligible, meet any remaining PRM requirements necessary, and become a PRM Designation Holder. This can be combined with the exemptions in the section above. Details can be found on the PRM™ Certificate Programs for Recent Graduates and Students page.

Do You Qualify?

Select your experience level:

 Master's Degree

 Bachelor's Degree

 CFA CharterHolder

 I am a current student

 None of these


Maintaining Certification

Once the PRM Designation is achieved, holders must meet the following maintenance requirements:

  • Hold a current PRMIA Sustaining OR RIM level membership, starting with the day you obtain your PRM Designation
  • Complete 20 Continued Risk Learning (CRL) credits each calendar year starting with the calendar year immediately after the PRM Designation is achieved

Download the Guidebook to learn more about maintaining the PRM Designation.


Thank you to our sponsors, including:


Contact Us

Looking to further your career?

Become a Member

Sign Up for Mailing List